Costume party bliss: clothing project in the making

A friend of mine is having a costume party to celebrate her birthday this year and when I heard of it, I couldn’t help but thinking what a bummer these kind of parties are. Yes, I am one of those who definitely do not enjoy dressing up as a nurse or Snow White (or whatever floats your boat) and spend the whole night prancing around in weird clothing. Sure, I’ve been to some costume parties before, but I never really liked it. This year, though, I kind of got excited about it and could not stop thinking about the perfect outfit!

My first choice was to go for something a bit burlesque, inspired by Dita Von Teese. I love this picture of her, but, of course, I would go for a more clothed version. With the word ‘burlesque’ in mind, I started to look for references and then rememebered of Britney Spears’  “Circus”! I love how glamourous all her outfits look and I specially love the lion tamer one. Since I was already looking opn a video, I decided to take a look also at Gwen Stefani’s “Rich Girl”. There are many great combos there for pirate lovers like me.

dita-brit-gwen

Anyway, after much reasearch, I ended up choosing something a bit different. I resorted to Alice in Wonderland, but am not going as Alice herself or the Queen of Hearts, no. I’m going as him:

madhatter

Yes, the Mad Hatter! I’m not taking it quite literally, but doing a slightly glam rendition. I am very much excited and anxious, full of ideas and of things to do and buy in order to make this outfit really work. I’ll be sure to post any news concerning this special project of mine. Let’s see what I’ll end up with!

One thought on “Costume party bliss: clothing project in the making

  1. Pingback: Just a bad seamstress « The annotated life

Leave a Reply

