Embroidering the french way

I love embroidery, but I’m not the most patient person in the world, which means that this is a pleasure I don’t indulge in that often. Anyway, my grandmother had this collection of french booklets that had several incredible patterns. I’m really tempted to use one of those in a white plain dress to give it a little twist, a slightly Mexican flavour. There are so many wonderful patterns that I’m having a hard time deciding which one is my favourite. Check a couple of the pages out:

4 thoughts on “Embroidering the french way

  1. As a person who actually made her living with hand embroidery for a while (Someone has to do the originals that they take to the far east to have multiples made of, and I was that person.), I would love to own this book. How old is it?

    • hey!
      i don’t really know for sure when those were released. i guess my grandma bought them circa 1939, but cannot be very precise about it.
      it is called motifs pour broderies and it was published by dmc.

Leave a Reply

