Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman: never again!

I finally finished reading Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman, and all I can say is: if you ever feel like giving it a try, well, read American Gods instead. Really! I mean, honestly, what can I say? It was kinda of predictable and I saw no originality anywhere (ok, there may be a few interesting things in there), unlike Gaiman’s works I know. This was one of the reasons it took me so long to finish it; I dreaded my reading hours quite a bit this time around and would use any excuse to abstain from reading it. Apparently, the story was conceived and formatted to be a BBC series that aired in the late 90s. Writing the whole thing down and releasing it as a book made Neverwhere his debut novel. I’ve read a few complimentary reviews, but, still, I strongly dislike it.

Anyway, don’t really know what I’ll read next. I guess some short stories’ book, as I’ve “inherited” quite a few of them from my stepmom’s parents (who are still alive, btw; it’s that kind of inheritance, you know?).

One thought on “Neverwhere, by Neil Gaiman: never again!

  1. Hi..Nana!! I know what you mean!..I’m currently reading a “bestseller”. Everybody that read it…says it’s amazing!..But I dislike it. Sometimes I want to finish reading it asap…to start a new one!! =p

Leave a Reply

