Back in action!

So, I’m back! The last couple weeks have been totally chaotic and insane. I’m still very much tired and, right now, I can only thank the higher forces for not letting me get a job immediately after I left my old one. Today is one of those days the only thing you want to do is to sleep and watch TV under your blanket. Unfortunately, I do have some stuff I have to do instead, but it is almost nothing if compared to staying 10 hours locked into a room with no possibility of getting out.

I do know I completely abandoned here for some time, but, really, time was the only thing I had NOT til right before New Year’s. Then I travelled with my brother and his friends to this place in the countryside and, then, I had no access to computers. It was nice for a while, but in the end I was going crazy and needed a bit of chaos back in my life asap.

But, come think of it, not everything was lost. I spend quite some time reading and could finish two Nick Hornby novels I got for Christmas. Well, actually, The Complete Polysyllabic Spree is not a novel at all; it is more kinda like Songbook, you know? In this book, Hornby gathered about two years worth of essays he wrote for the magazine Believer, all of them about books he bought and read or not read but intend to. As the subtitle explains, it is The diary of an ocasonally exasperated but ever hopeful reader, and in each column, Hornby – the reader – goes on about what made him like this or that book more, kind of. One of the things that made me love the book is the way he shows that a great piece of literature can be ruined on us should we be in the wrong mood, and how, in the end, reading something that brings us no pleasure is, actually, not very much worthy. (That is, unless you’re in school or college and are forced to read something terrible for academic purposes. I’ve had my share of it in the past and foresee a lot more to come.)

The other book I finished was Slam, that tells us the story of Sam, a skaterboarder whose life, all of a sudden, takes a turn and starts going really well for some time. As most people know, these extremely lucky phases precede some awful times. In the book, it is not different. I’m not going to spoil the surprise here, even though it happens quite early on and you’re led to know what it will be some time before it happens. Anyway, it is a small surprise and I hate it when people ruin even those. (By the way, in The Complete Polysyllabic Spree, NH warns his readers to one of these party-pooper moments. Apparently, in the back of a book he was reading, one major twist – or is it turn? It seems my English is deteriorating – is revealed, just like that. And back during holidays, one girl had the same thing happen to her. I’d be as pissed as I can be if my reading was spoiled like that.) Anyway, even though this is not my favourite, it was quite nice. I love the way he writes and how he manages to insert a bit of fun in almost everything. Well, I guess most things in life can be seen like that and we just don’t do it because when you’re into a fishy situation yourself, there seems to be, at the time, very little reason to laugh.

And as I’m in the mood for more light prose, I started to reread How to Be Good, also by Nick Hornby. When I discovered it the first time, I gotta be honest, I hated it. But then, I was much younger and, probably, couldn’t see the point in reading about waht seemed to me a mean older woman who ditched her husbands over a cell phone. Weird, of course, because I really found no problem reading about a guy whose selfish and idiotic actions led her girlfriend to make an abortion and, in the end, leave him. I’m not even going to spend more than a couple seconds thinking about it; the results might be not what I would like ’em to be and, therefore, my own perception of myself would be tarnished. Anyway, I decided to give it another try and am really looking forward the results.

This reminds me, of course, that I must change the side bar. And I just have to say that The Divine Comedy is desperately boring and I interrupted its reading once again. It is, I guess, the sixth time this happens and I’m starting to think that I should just leave it alone for a decade or two. Who knows, it might be transformed into something more interesting then.

Leave a Reply

